NOTICE:For better user experience, we strongly recommend that you log in the WLA Prize Nomination Portal on your computer to submit your nomination.
Home > About

The WLA Prize

The World Laureates Association Prize (WLA Prize) is an international science prize established in Shanghai, in 2021, initiated by the World Laureates Association (WLA), managed by the WLA Foundation, and exclusively funded by HongShan.

The WLA Prize aims to recognize and support eminent researchers and technologists worldwide for their contributions to science. It is intended to support global science and technology advancement, address the challenges to humanity, and promote society's long-term progress.

Each year, the WLA Prize is awarded in two categories: the "WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics" and the "WLA Prize in Life Science or Medicine."

The total award for each Prize, which may be divided among up to four laureates, is RMB 10 million.


Why is the WLA Prize established?

The global development of science and technology has gained revolutionary and far-reaching influence in the past three decades. Human beings are closer to discovering the laws of nature and ultimate rules of the universe than ever before, and are facing continuing pressing issues at the same time, including the global public health crisis, global warming, biodiversity loss, etc. Thus, greater expectations are placed on our exploration in science and technologies.

Humans are obliged to contemplate the future of science and humanity, and to make unremitting endeavors. To this end, the World Laureates Association established the WLA Prize, in a bid to promote support for cutting-edge science and technology and basic science, to encourage people to do the "difficult yet right" things in the scientific field, so as to lend impetus to the sustainable development of humankind and the entire planet.

Why is the WLA Prize Needed?

The WLA Prize is an international award native to Shanghai, China. Its goal is to honor distinguished researchers and technologists worldwide who have made pioneering work, advanced the theoretical development of their fields, charted significant territories of research, developed transformational technologies, and improved human life.

Following the WLA's vision of "Science and technology for the common destiny of mankind," the WLA Prize will also strive to fulfill the Association's three missions: promoting basic science, advocating for international cooperation, and supporting the development of youth.

The WLA Prize is a permanent "public welfare investment" in human science and technology. We believe its achievement will shed new light on addressing the common challenges that human society faces, and contribute to the advancement of human civilization.

Log In



or Log in with Verification Code
Sign Up


Click "Send" and check email for code. If not received, check your spam folder or contact