NOTICE:For better user experience, we strongly recommend that you log in the WLA Prize Nomination Portal on your computer to submit your nomination.
Home > Press Room > News > Call for Nominations for the 2024 WLA Prize

Call for Nominations for the 2024 WLA Prize

Date Mar. 1, 2024

The 2024 World Laureates Association Prize (WLA Prize) will be officially opened for nominations on Friday March 1, 2024 (GMT+8). Nominators may access the official website of the WLA Prize, where they can follow the guidelines to submit nominations. 


Know the nomination process of the 2024 WLA Prize in 2 minutes. Link to the nomination process.


The nomination deadline is June 15, 2024 (GMT+8). The 2024 WLA Prize Laureates Announcement is scheduled in late August or early September, followed by a grand Award Ceremony during the 7th WLA Forum in Shanghai, China, this October.



Unveiled at the 4th WLA Forum on November 1, 2021, the WLA Prize is an international science prize initiated by the World Laureates Association (WLA), managed by the WLA Foundation, and exclusively funded by HongShan.


The WLA Prize is awarded annually and features two categories: "Computer Science or Mathematics" and "Life Science or Medicine." The total award for each prize, which may be divided among up to four laureates, is RMB 10 million. 


Nominations will be first evaluated by the Selection Committee of each single prize, after which shortlisted candidates will be submitted to the Awards Committee for the final decision. The Awards Committee will have a majority vote on the best nominees. The final decision will be confirmed and announced by the Management Committee. The Committee is composed by world laureates, including Nobel laureates and Turing laureates.


All together seven outstanding scientists have been awarded the WLA Prize since its establishment. The 2023 WLA Prize Award Ceremony took place on November 6 at the Opening Ceremony of the 6th WLA Forum in Shanghai. An impressive attendance of over 300 esteemed guests, including the world laureates, academicians, senior scientists, young scientists, and professionals from 25 countries and regions witnessed the exciting moment together. 


The 2023 WLA Prize Award Ceremony

Credit toWLA Shanghai Center


Looking ahead to the future of the WLA Prize, Michael I. JordanChair of 2024 WLA Prize Selection Committee (Computer Science or Mathematics), said: "We hope that the prize not only fosters this multi-disciplinary integration but also inspires budding talents to delve into the emerging intellectual challenges of applied mathematics." Since there were no Nobel Prize in Mathematics or Computer Science, the WLA Prize aimed to "fill that important gap." While Randy Schekman, Chair of the 2024 WLA Prize Selection Committee (Life Science or Medicine), and 2013 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine, pointed out that the WLA Prize was also set up "to identify people who have achieved great discoveries but who have not yet been recognized internationally," and he thought "more of these international prizes should to be more original in doing the same." 


The 2024 World Laureates Association Prize (WLA Prize) will be officially opened for nominations from March 1, 202(GMT+8) to June 15, 2024 (GMT+8). If you have any questions about the nomination process, please contact

Log In



or Log in with Verification Code
Sign Up


Click "Send" and check email for code. If not received, check your spam folder or contact