NOTICE:For better user experience, we strongly recommend that you log in the WLA Prize Nomination Portal on your computer to submit your nomination.
Home > Press Room > News > Winners of the Inaugural WLA Prize Announced, RMB 10 Million for Each Prize

Winners of the Inaugural WLA Prize Announced, RMB 10 Million for Each Prize

Date Sept. 29, 2022

(Shanghai, 29 September, 2022) The WLA Prize dedicated to recognizing eminent researchers and technologists worldwide for their contributions to science unveiled its inaugural laureates today.

The 2022 WLA Prize Laureates are:

Michael I. JORDAN, the 2022 WLA Prize Laureate in Computer Science or Mathematics

Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences & Department of Statistics, UC Berkeley.

--"For fundamental contributions to the foundations of machine learning and its application."

Dirk GÖRLICH, the 2022 WLA Prize Laureate in Life Science or Medicine,

Scientific member and Director, Max Planck Institute for Multidisciplinary Sciences.

--"For key discoveries elucidating the mechanism and selectivity of protein transport between the cytoplasm and nucleus."

Roger KORNBERG, Chairman of the World Laureates Association and 2006 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, said that “The WLA Prize advocates for original basic science and encourages scientific researchers to be better committed to the common well-being of human beings. It is believed that the WLA Prize, established in China through multi-lateral efforts, will become one of the world's globally influential awards.”

Michael LEVITT, Vice Chairman of the World Laureates Association and 2013 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry announced the 2022 WLA Prize laureates.

YANG Wei, Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Foreign Member of the National Academy of Engineering (USA) and Fellow and Treasurer of the World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) also attended the press conference.

“Global technological development has brought revolutionary and far-reaching impact since the start of this century, and the pace of development is only accelerating,” said Neil SHEN, Steward of Sequoia Capital Founding and Managing Partner of Sequoia China, which is the exclusive sponsor of the WLA Prize. “Sequoia China is committed to supporting cutting-edge technology and fundamental research and encouraging those who push forward the frontiers of science.”

WU Xiangdong , Executive Director of the World Laureates Association and Chairman of the WLA Prize Management Committee announced that the Award Ceremony of the inaugural WLA Prize will be solemnly held on the Opening Ceremony of the 5th WLA Forum in early November, 2022; both of the laureates are on schedule to Shanghai to accept their awards.

About the WLA Prize

The World Laureates Association Prize (WLA Prize) is an international science prize established in Shanghai, in 2021, initiated by World Laureates Association (WLA), managed by the WLA Foundation, and exclusively funded by Sequoia China.

The WLA Prize aims to recognize and support eminent researchers and technologists worldwide for their contributions to science. It is intended to support global science and technology advancement, address the challenges to humanity, and promote society's long-term progress.

Each year, the WLA Prize is awarded in two categories: the "WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics" and the "WLA Prize in Life Science or Medicine."

The total award for each Prize, which may be divided among up to four laureates, is RMB 10 million.

More info about the WLA Prize:

About Us

World Laureates Association

The World Laureates Association (WLA) is a non-governmental and non-profit international organization. It is one of the world's highest profile organizations of laureates with three missions: advocacy for basic science, promotion of international cooperation, and support for young scientists. Upholding the vision of "Science and Technology for the Common Destiny of Mankind," the WLA is committed to enhancing the academic exchange of ideas and research among scientists and scholars in China and the world.

WLA Foundation

The WLA Foundation supports all WLA activities and is funded entirely by donations from private sources.  

Sequoia China

Sequoia China helps daring founders build legendary companies. In partnering with Sequoia, companies benefit from its unmatched community and the lessons Sequoia has learned over the years. As "The Entrepreneurs Behind The Entrepreneurs", Sequoia China focuses on three sectors: tech, consumer and healthcare. Over the past 17 years, Sequoia China has had the privilege of working with more than 900 companies. It is committed to advancing innovation in science and technology. It actively supports scientists and entrepreneurs, promotes technological innovation, and nurtures leading tech-enabled enterprises, with a concern for corporate social responsibility. As the exclusive sponsor of the World Laureates Association (WLA) Prize, Sequoia China hopes that its support will encourage the pursuit of innovative scientific developments and drive growth across the world.

Log In



or Log in with Verification Code
Sign Up


Click "Send" and check email for code. If not received, check your spam folder or contact