NOTICE:For better user experience, we strongly recommend that you log in the WLA Prize Nomination Portal on your computer to submit your nomination.
Home > Laureates > Arkadi NEMIROVSKI
2023 WLA Prize Laureates

To Explore Uncharted Territories in Science

To Sculpt a Better Future

"For their seminal work in convex optimization theory, including the theory of self-concordant functions and interior-point methods, a complexity theory of optimization, accelerated gradient methods, and methodological advances in robust optimization."
The 2023 WLA Prize Laureate in Computer Science or Mathematics
John P. Hunter, Jr. Chair Professor, H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, U.S.A.
About the Laureate

Arkadi Nemirovski shares the 2023 WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics with Yurii Nesterov.

Prof. Arkadi Nemirovski was born in Moscow, Russia, and studied mathematics at the Faculty of Mechanics and Mathematics of Moscow State University. His research interests focus on Optimization Theory and Algorithms, with emphasis on investigating complexity and developing efficient algorithms for nonlinear convex programs, optimization under uncertainty, applications of convex optimization in engineering, and nonparametric statistics. In over five decades of his career, he co-authored 6 research monographs and over journal papers on these subjects.
Prof. Nemirovski's contributions to continuous optimization include establishing information-based complexity of various classes of convex programs and development of the Ellipsoid Algorithm (joint with David B. Yudin), development of Mirror Descent first-order algorithms for deterministic and stochastic convex optimization, creating theory of polynomial time interior-point algorithms for convex programs (joint with Yurri Nesterov), research on Robust optimization (joint with Aharon Ben-Tal) and Nonparametric Statistics. During the last decade, his research, joint with Anatoli Juditsky, focused on utilizing Convex Analysis in the design and analysis of statistical inferences.
Prof. Nemirovski earned a Ph.D. in Mathematics (1974) from Moscow State University and a Doctor of Sciences degree in Mathematics (1990) from the USSR Supreme Attestation Board. He was employed as Senior Research Associate at the Moscow Institute for Automatic Equipment (1974-1987), Senior/Principal Research Associate at the Central Economic and Mathematical Institute of the USSR/Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow (1987-1993), Full Professor at the Technion Faculty of Industrial Engineering and Management (1993-2006). Since 2005, he has been John P. Hunter, Jr., Chair Professor at the H. Milton Stewart School of Industrial and Systems Engineering at Georgia Institute of Technology.


1970, Master's Degree in Mathematics, Moscow State University, USSR
1974, Ph.D. in Mathematics, Moscow State University, USSR
1990, Doctor of Sciences degree in Mathematics, Supreme Attestation Board at the USSR Council of Ministers

Professional Experience

1973-1987, Research Associate, Research Institute for Automatic Equipment, Moscow
1987-1993, Research Associate, Central Economic and Mathematical Institute of the USSR (since 1991 - Russian) Academy of Sciences
1993-2006, Chaired Full professor, Faculty of Industrial Engineering & Management at Technion, Haifa, Israel
2005-present, John Hunter Chair and Professor, School of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.

Major Awards and Honors

1982, Delbert Ray Fulkerson Prize, with Leonid Khachiyan and David B. Yudin (Mathematical Optimization Society, MOS; American Mathematics Society, AMS)
1991, George B. Dantzig Prize, with Martin Grötschel (Mathematical Optimization Society, MOS; Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, SIAM)
2003, John von Neumann Theory Prize, with Michael J. Todd (The Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences, INFORMS)
2017, Member, National Academy of Engineering, U.S.A.
2018, Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
2019, Norbert Wiener Prize in Applied Mathematics (AMS, SIAM)

Log In



or Log in with Verification Code
Sign Up


Click "Send" and check email for code. If not received, check your spam folder or contact